//
you're reading...
Just Me

My Year in Facebook Statuses

 This week I downloaded “my year in Facebook statuses”.   Someone I hardly know and yet am virtual friends with anyway, had done a similar thing, which came up on my Facebook news-feed.  Clearly, they had enjoyed a lot of Pimms and a new niece, but had also been bored quite a lot.  I’m not sure I quite understand that, as new-born relatives and the summertime drink of champions are both quite exciting.

Anyway, whilst my year in statuses was nice to see (although I am not sure I will pay to have it printed on a T-shirt, as also offered by the company that produces this image) it was not very surprising.   There has been a lot of snow, I have drunk a fair amount of gin, said the word “Prague” more than I have since I studied European history at A-Level  and advertised my justgiving page with shameless persistence.  I have also moved about a bit.  The words “hotel”, “home”, “coming”, “leaving” “bike”, “Cambodia” and “Houston” all obviously appeared on my 2010 Facebook statuses a significant number of times. 

My Year in Facebook Statuses - 2010 was a busy one!

 

Which is why I have decided, my 2011 New Year’s Resolution is:  I Will Do Less.

 I know that NY Resolutions are meant to be about betterment and doing less sounds a bit like giving up, but just as I am trying to avoid doing the things I “should” do (see my previous post) I am going to try to slow down a little bit.  This year has been a pretty massive one for me and hubby.  We only married in January this year and are now set to celebrate our first anniversary in our new home country. 

The year in between has been a bit of a blur to be honest. 

From February to June I travelled a stupid amount for work, covering four continents and a total of at least 54,002 kilometres.   I changed jobs (and industry sectors and so have inadvertently ended up in a job I am not sure I understand), moved house and country, lived apart from my husband for a month, stopped smoking, learned to ride a bike (due to a little known  and much misunderstood deficiency, I never managed this as a child), cycled 500km in one week and a further 800km in training (approx., probably much more if you take into account the vicious regime of spinning classes that I followed for three exhausting months), whilst raising over £4,000 for charity.  I have also started to learn a new language, tried to find my way around a new city and found out that if you say “I am warm” when the Czech plumber comes to fix the central heating, you are actually telling him that you are homosexual.

I am knackered.

It’s all been really fun, and I feel very lucky to have been to the places that I have visited this year, and grateful that I have a (fingers crossed) stable job in this rather uncertain time. But I’m still knackered.  I’m not even thirty and I feel like it’s time to move to the south coast (of England, Czechland is land-locked), drink sherry in the afternoons and put my feet up.

So this year is going to be the year of staying in and chilling out.   I will stay and enjoy our beautiful apartment, and get to know the city we now call home. In particular:

I am not going to travel anywhere:  Except back to England to see friends and family. And to Scotland as we have already booked that, to Paris as I have promised a friend that I will and I really want to see her, to anywhere that work makes me travel, and maybe to somewhere warm for a holiday as it’s bloody freezing here…

I am not going to learn how to do anything new:  Except Pilates, which I am still struggling with, and speaking Czech, which is essential.  And snowboarding, because we’ve already arranged it.

I am not going to cycle a stupidly long way: Although I need to keep fit so thought I might rediscover my love of running and inadvertently  suggested the Prague half marathon to some friends, who now seem keener than I am on the whole thing, so I think that’s decided…

Already I can see it mounting up before me.   I am already a little bit high on nervous energy just thinking about the next twelve months.

Whilst on holiday in November (the “restful” holiday during which me, hubby and some mates cycled across a sizable part of South-East Asia in the 35 degree heat) I finished the book I was reading (Dracula – quite good – a bit like Pride and Prejudice crossed with The Vampire Diaries) and took it to our hostel’s book swap.  The book that jumped out was a book about Buddhism, called “How to Live without Fear and Worry”.  I thought this might be a step in the right direction for my NY resolution.  I am only a quarter of the way through however, and already worrying that I won’t be able to finish it this year (I only have this afternoon left), in time to relax in 2011.

Maybe I should resolve something a little less full-on….my initial resolution was just to have “better” eyebrows.  Let’s see how that goes. :)

About CzechingIn

A blog about an English lady living in Prague.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “My Year in Facebook Statuses

  1. I think you will feel better as the weather turns warmer. Also, as you become adjusted to your new lifestyle. You seem to be in a lot of culture shock right now. See the similiarities in Prague to other people and places and your days will be a breeze. Take care…and I enjoy your blog, because I plan on living in Czech in 2011. But, please tell me what you enjoy there…

    Posted by Penny | December 31, 2010, 5:00 pm
  2. I like that you specified the two kilometres in “at least 54,002 km.” Are those your trips to Bakehouse? x

    Posted by Rosalind | January 4, 2011, 4:12 pm
  3. I am pernickety enough that I’m cross I got Bakeshop and Bakehouse confused. x

    Posted by Rosalind | January 5, 2011, 4:39 pm
  4. I love the list of things already planned for the year of doing nothing. I feel exactly the same. ;)

    Posted by rachel b | January 9, 2011, 6:23 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: To the castle (not back) | CzechingIn - January 12, 2011

  2. Pingback: No wine or chocolate – except when I deserve either « CzechingIn - January 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

