//
you're reading...
Just Me

Pretty Massive Week

I apologise for the lack of blogging action recently.  I am a firm believer that people who post articles on a weekly (or more regular) basis, for a prolonged period of time should get out and live life a little bit, rather than just writing about it.  Which is exactly what I have been doing. 
 
In life terms, this week in particular has been a pretty massive one.  I have (drumroll), been premoted, applied for a place on a masters course, been hired for a freelance writing job, and tomorrow I am going for what I think will be a very dramatic haircut. In the imaginary film playing in my own head, I am Gwyneth Paltrow in Sliding Doors (the blond-haired version where she opens her own PR agency and hooks up with John Hannah, not the sad-sack who stays with the cheating b***ard and makes sandwiches in the deli) crossed with Miranda from SATC 2 when she quits her job to go and see her little boy win the school science prize. 
 
Oddly, the haircut is the change I am most scared of, which possibly means it is a mistake…we will see.
 
It is odd how six months ago none of these things were anything more than daydreams. But then, only eight months ago, I had no plans to move to Prague.  The past eight months has been very much a lesson in how to role with the punches and be a bit brave.  Moving overseas is also strangely liberating. It is interesting how little you care what other people might think, when those people are a flight away.  To be honest there are a lot of people back in Blighty with whom I have not shared this news yet, as I’m not sure I can handle the emotional stress and potential judgement that will follow. And I think that is fine when people are so far away. Your perspective shifts. One of my friends in Prague “forgot” to mention to her family back in the UK that she had moved in with her boyfriend, rather than living separately, because she knew they wouldn’t exactly be thrilled.  
 
Why rock the boat needlessly, when you can just sail away into your own sunset? 
 
I have not lost my mind, my mind has just broadened.  A very good friend sent me a flow chart recently that asked “Are You Happy?”  If the answer was no, the solution was “Change Something”.  Which is what I have done. And the best thing of all is that if it turns out to be not quite what I wanted, it will grow back.
 

*************
 
P.S. I really have been doing lots of lovely Prague-based things too, which I promise I will write about soon, just as soon as I have stopped making momentous decisions. 😉
About CzechingIn

A blog about an English lady living in Prague.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Pretty Massive Week

  1. I think that is the most valuable flowchart there is. The next box should say “Don’t ever think you can’t effect change or that you won’t be alright. You can and you will.”.

    You are only trapped if you are not prepared to compromise.

    I worry about family and friends who get to “Are you happy?”, don’t realise how much happier they could be, and choose “Yes”.

    Variety truly is the spice of life and the fuel of experience.

    Neil.

    Posted by Neil | January 30, 2011, 6:17 pm
  2. I am so proud of you for changing something.
    I am also determined to take my own advice.

    Posted by Rachel Brown | February 10, 2011, 3:58 pm

Leave a Reply

