//
you're reading...
Odds-and-Sods

How much is a cup of tea in Inverness, and other stories…

Big brother is watching you.  Really.  Even a harmless Google search cannot go unnoticed now.

My blog has all these settings that allow me to monitor how many people look at my site each day, if they come via another website, what links they click on when they are on my site, and whether they are tall, dark and/or handsome.  Seriously, I get more information from this that you’ll get from this year’s census.  

My ‘Site Stats’ page also lets me see what search-engine terms people use to find my blog in the first place.  Whilst some of them were not unusual (“Prague blogs” and “expat Prague”),  I found some of the results a little more surprising…

cukr kava limonada elder flower – I am so glad people google this – Cukr Kava Limonada is a really lovely restaurant just off the main drag over the Charles Bridge. It’s so close to the main tourist route and yet easily missed as it’s tucked away in a quiet little square.  Their elderflower sparkly minty cordial thing is so refreshing in the summer and is one of the reasons I moved here.  It has a really lovely interior, due to the traditional painted ceiling and also because it is owned by the same people who own I-material, a shop in Prague that sells Bohemian crystal (including the chandelier in the picture).

Cukr Kava, a lovely place to drink Elderflower cordial

strong female runner….nope, that’s not me. I’m not too shoddy but I don’t think I’m going to be breaking records any time soon.

weekend Prague Czech women – I am a bit baffled by how people get to me from this, but I imagine they must be disappointed when they do.  Is that unfair and cynical?  I suppose it is possible that this is not the google search of some stag-do attendee wanting to know where he can pick up local women.  Maybe it’s someone’s grannie just wanting to know what the nice ladies do in Prague on the weekend.

Lots of people find me by googling me “czeching in blog” which, I won’t deny, is rather nice for my ego.  It makes me feel wanted.  My actual name brings up the website of a holistic therapist in the UK and my work profile page, so this is rather a step up.

Other search terms that will lead you here include: “Pilates cartoon”, “polystyrene castle” and “Bryony Gordon blog”.  I obviously cater for a wide range of reader…

Lastly, my favourite:  how much is a cup of tea in Inverness?  I didn’t want to disappoint in case this becomes a repeat request.  I attach a link for the website of the Dores Inn where I was a few weekends ago.  From memory a cup of tea is under two pounds.  It’s a lovely restaurant on the edge of Loch Ness.  If you can’t get to Cukr Kava, I would highly recommend it as the next best thing.

About CzechingIn

A blog about an English lady living in Prague.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “How much is a cup of tea in Inverness, and other stories…

  1. Fun! I always have a good time looking at the rather interesting and sometimes absurd search terms that people use to arrive at my various WordPress sites. Glad to know you aren’t catering to the stag-do crowd at weekends, and I also like the new theme!

    Posted by Megan | March 23, 2011, 9:52 am
  2. Beware: this is a slippery slope. It’s far, far too easy to become utterly obsessed by your stats. Trust me on that.

    I must go and check mine, immediately. Again.

    Posted by Webby | March 23, 2011, 11:20 am
  3. I found out through the stats page that “chut” (as in “Dobrou Chut”) had another, very different meaning in certain Asian languages, which drove a disproportionate amout of traffic to my site… 🙂

    Other WTF searches included:

    mark owen what do you want from me
    eva peron rainbow tour
    i hate bankers
    prague mid age
    barge refurb
    ambrosia creamed rice pudding
    people working
    kajmak urnebes
    it is with mixed emotions
    hate elf
    صاج كباب

    Happy days… 🙂

    Posted by Miss Knedlíkova | March 23, 2011, 12:58 pm
  4. Hi CzechingIn,
    Aided by Google Analytics & my internet savvy wife, I’ve also become fascinated by my visitor stats & what brings people to my blog. Two posts that I wrote in June 2009, consistently bring people to my blog.

    One about getting my British right-hand drive car registered in the Czech Republic entitled ‘Driving on the ‘right’ side of the road’ brings people who search for that exact phrase together with ‘right-hand drive cars’. The other post, about attending a reception at the British Embassy to celebrate the Queen’s Official Birthday, (yours & my Queen!) makes my blog an authority on the Queen’s Official Birthday!

    Posted by Chaplain.cz | March 23, 2011, 1:17 pm
  5. you’ve had a re-design! 🙂 I like it.

    Posted by Rachel Brown | March 31, 2011, 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

