//
you're reading...
Just Me

FOOC me – CzechingIn’s on the airwaves !

WARNING WARNING: ABSOLUTELY SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION COMING UP!

I have some very good news (for me) that I am happy to share with you and whoever you would like to pass it on to. Yours truly will be taking to the airwaves shortly, on the BBC World Service

That’s right, mother Britain, the Beeb, caught up with me some months ago and asked me to put together a short “dispatch” (industry lingo, darling) about the Czech Republic for the World Service programme,  From Our Own Correspondent.  The nice BBC man who contacted me said he “wasn’t sure if it was my sort of thing, but was I interested?”.  Turns out it is, and I was.  Perhaps this will be my fifteen minutes of fame?  Actually, it’s only about five minutes long,  so I’ll have some spare fame left over for another time.

Colin Firth couldn't make it, which was a pity

Recording was a whole lot of fun.  I trotted along to the home of British radio at Aldwych in London. There were massive microphones all over the place and lots of buttons.  I was obviously not too cool to (i) want a photo and (ii) bring my dad with me, in case this is my first and last foray into the world of radio broadcasting.  When I mentioned that this was one of the coolest things I’d ever done,  ‘my man’ at the BBC just said “oh dear”.  Enough said.

*** F0r those of you who missed this,  here I am as a podcast http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/p00hkvvz ***

.

Enjoy!

About CzechingIn

A blog about an English lady living in Prague.

Discussion

One thought on “FOOC me – CzechingIn’s on the airwaves !

  1. Congratulations on your radio experience. I love reading this blog and am pleased it’s going well for you.

    Funny about the names thing – when I first moved to Prague several years ago, I was so bemused about name days – I love it now and celebrate mine each year!

    Posted by Janie | July 18, 2011, 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

