//
you're reading...
Just Me

The Giggle Loop

So I’ve signed myself up for a series of life drawing classes.  I’m not quite sure why.  Somewhere inside it made sense to try to calm down an already busy lifestyle by taking on another extra-curricular commitment.  My mum mentioned recently that she was surprised by how ‘industrious’ (aka chaotic) I have become.   So am I.

I’d wanted to do pottery originally but got confused by all the options on the internet and ended up emailing a lovely lady about drawing naked people.  When I broke the news to hubby I explained patiently that I’ve “always” wanted to take life drawing classes.  He looked dubious.  Possibly this was to do with me never, ever having voiced such a desire previously.  Truthfully: although I did art at school I was never very good at drawing, have never done life drawing, and have absolutely no idea what possessed me to start having group lessons.  I really hope everyone else is a beginner too as otherwise I’m dreading the bit at the end where they make you turn your easel round so that everyone can see your inadequate stick man.

My first attempt

I’d actually wanted to tile-making at the pottery place down the road so that I could be one of those really wholesome people that give people home-made presents at Christmas.  What will I do now?  Amateur sketches of naked men for mum’s stocking filler?  Is that better or worse than talc?

The main thing that I am worried about is the Giggle Loop.  I first heard of the Giggle Loop in the BCC series Coupling.  The Giggle Loop normally starts when you are surround by other people, somewhere very quiet.  This could be during a minute’s silence, a funeral, the meditation bit at the end of a yoga class.  Anywhere where the group is silent.  Like a life drawing class.  You might find yourself thinking “the worst thing I could possibly do right now is laugh“.  As soon as you think that you almost do laugh.  But you don’t, you manage to control yourself.  Phew.  But then you think how terrible it would have been if you had actually laughed.  That makes you nearly laugh again, but this time it’s a bigger laugh.  And you think how embarrassing this bigger laugh would have been.  And you nearly laugh again.  And this keeps going and going until the laughter finally breaks out.  And by the time it actually gets out, it is a truly massive enormous laugh. 

Suddenly there you are, in the middle of a completely silent room, laughing uncontrollably with your shoulders shaking like you’re having some sort of fit.  Giggling like a schoolgirl just because there’s a naked man with his naughty bits out.

The most important thing to do to avoid the Giggle Loop is not think of the Giggle Loop. Sadly, this is now all I am thinking about and the first class starts in about an hour.  I will keep you posted.

About CzechingIn

A blog about an English lady living in Prague.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Giggle Loop

  1. I have to say you will forget that anyone is naked especially if everyone else has been there before, and then you will just be able to enjoy the chance to draw.

    Posted by thelinoprinter | October 5, 2011, 6:59 pm
  2. I hope you have a good teacher. I did life drawing and then painting in Miami and LOVED it. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    Posted by Jennie | October 5, 2011, 11:04 pm
  3. As a life drawing class survivor, I can confirm that laughter was the very last thing on my mind as a naked male stranger squatted in front of me. Enjoy!

    Posted by rachel | October 5, 2011, 11:14 pm
  4. Don’t worry about the giggles, they subside quickly as you wrestle with the intricacies of drawing the subtleties of the human form.

    Life drawing is one of my very favourite things . When it goes well , the exhilaration is intense. When it is a struggle ( most of the time) it can be tough, but trust me, give the drawing some time and you will be proud of the results.

    Posted by kidspartyheaven | October 6, 2011, 1:08 am
  5. how right you all are! there was no giggling, only intense concentration. It was so hard, but I’ve never known two hours to fly by so quickly!

    Posted by CzechingIn | October 6, 2011, 10:14 am
  6. I did one class of still life drawing a few years ago and then I gave up – I didn’t find it relaxing, but rather unnerving… Was trying to hard to get it right I guess 🙂

    Anyway, I switched to pottery classes and then also making Tiffany glass, and I really loved it. This was the place: http://www.kurzyuzuzy.cz/umelecke-kurzy-rozvrh.html (And you could learn Czech there at the same time, as I’m not sure how much English they speak 🙂 )

    Posted by Czech for Foreigners (@czechinprague) | October 12, 2011, 7:23 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A lesson in frugal living (Part 2 of 2) « CzechingIn - November 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

